Endurance

According to dictionary.com, endurance is the ability or strength to continue or last, especially despite fatigue, stress, or other adverse conditions; stamina.

I find endurance to be one sneaky mofo. First I started off with none, or very little. Next thing you know I’m pushing myself, and not stopping when tired, but stopping when finished.

Today, I woke up at 6:30 am because I had to move my car by 7:30 am or risk getting a street sweeping ticket. I figured I could avoid that by driving to the park, and getting my run on. By the time I returned, there should be plenty of parking, as many people would’ve left for work by then.

So I took my tired ole self to the park, and set my Nike gps for 4 miles. Today I was going to start running 4 minutes and walking 1 minute intervals.

Just like that I had endurance. Despite my 7 miler on Sunday, my legs were fresh and wanted to run. Despite the cold and the little bit of wind, my body was invigorated and wanted to run. I crushed through the 4 minute time period with almost no effort at all. Endurance.

I walked when the time came, but I was ready to RUN when the time came as well. Endurance. I love it! And, I believe Im getting faster. Can’t really tell for sure, because I had to stop a few times to make a phone call, and then I had to stop to put together said phone, because it fell, and conked out. Oops. Lol. But my timing was good (to me), and I was able to crank out 4 miles.

I forget how good it feels to run, and get it out of the way BEFORE work. Of course, now Im sleepy, but at least I don’t have to fight myself about going or rather, missing a run.

Endurance. I love you!

Leave a Reply

