Official Re-Cap (Westfield Paramus Mall 5k)

Date: Sunday, November 13th, 2011
Location: Westfield, Paramus Mall 5K
Organizer: Practice Hard
Time: 9am
Weather: `45
Race #: 1 Baby

Yea, I know it only took me a few weeks, but I really wanted to have an official re-cap to look back on. The race was said to start at 9 am, and I somehow managed to leave my house, just after 7am. I knew I was pushing it, but what could I do at that point, it was already after 7am.

Well, I ended up having to go get gas. Then I ended up driving, and missing my exit, to be well on my way. I was nervous at this point, because the direction that I was headed in was towards the Lincoln Tunnel, and the absolute LAST thing I wanted to do was take an impromptu trip to NYC!

In any event, I was able to turn right before the tunnel entrance, and I was back on my way. I arrive about 8ish or so, and when parking my car, I realized how extremely cold it was.

I think the temperature was like 45 degrees that morning, and I was worried I wasn’t dressed properly. I had on my tights, my vff’s, a poly tank top, and then an activewear top on top of that. I was FREEZING. I had no choice but to put on my little jacket.

I found the check in spot, and got myself registered. I noticed there were a lot of kids, and an equal amount of adults around. Check in was super smooth.

I got my bib, and my tshirt, and back to the car I went. I still wasn’t nervous. Just cold. I put the tshirt on over my little sweat shirt, bringing my top layer up to 4.

I still had a little time to kill, so I basically just walked around, and checked out some of the promotions that was going on. Nothing major. There was some chic giving a warm up, that I jumped right in on, but I was so frigging cold.

Finally it was 10 minutes to race time. I went back to the car, and got rid of my little hoodie. I didnt want to get overheated. Good thing I did that, I was tempered just right during the run. For the most part.

Race time came, and I set myself up near the back with the penguins. At that time I didn’t know I would end up staying back there, but my goal for the race was to simply finish. I started off in a run, but was soon thereafter walking. For some reason, I ended up doing way more walking then running. I was having a hard time breathing. I mean like really!

Its almost as if I had exercise induced asthma, which is weird, because I normally do run in the cold. But whatever, I was truly glad when the race was over.

I had 2 little girls who were lagging behind me. I kept running, and they would run and pass me. But somewhere along the end, they gave up. They didn’t want to play with me anymore. I was kind of sad, because I truly didn’t mind it they passed me and I came in dead last, but whatever.

Ultimately I came in at 46 mins and a little change. I tried to push it to 47, but I was right in front of the finish line. Why 47? Because my bib # was 147.

All in all it was a wonderful experience. I absolutely can’t wait until my next 5k.

Things I would do differently:

Bring Gloves/Fingerless Mitts SOMETHING
Hydrate the day before
If I notice I’m struggling from the beginning, I would put on an interval set on my IPOD so at least I could’ve gotten more running out it. My running was very sporadic, and that shocked me. So I need to be prepared, and always have options.

That’s about it. For now, I will keep training, and scout more races.

2 responses to “Official Re-Cap (Westfield Paramus Mall 5k)

  1. Dont worry about it lady, the point is that you did it!

  2. Congratulations on your first 5k Necia! Awesome job!

Leave a Reply

