Only 200 To Go

20111002-215906.jpg

What started as a simple twitter meeting, which occured this past Friday, has turned into a major obsession. During #knitchat we were talking about all the crafs we partake in of the fibery kind. We also discussed the pro/cons of knitting and crochet.

Now I learned how to crochet when I was 6, some 28 years ago. My mother taught me, and Ive been hooked ever since. That is, until I learned how to knit 6 years ago. I learned how to kni fom a book, and my friend taught me how to purl. It’s ironic that I taught myslf how to knit the 1st Thanks Giving that my mother’s physical presence no longer existed. It was a sad, grief filled time. So as I prepared my 1st turkey, I knit my 1st scarf.

From there, came the spinning, sewing, and quilting. With each craft I embarked on, I felt clser to my mother. Strange, I know! But they have all been terrific coping mechanisms.

So anyway, as I was tweeting away, I came to the realization that I had never crocheted a granny square. Ive thought about it for years, but never did I act on my thoughts. Who would’ve ever thought tweeting could turn out to be so inspirational?

By Friday, the next day, I had a few skeins of yarn to get me started. All I needed was a pattern. I decided to roll with Drops 124

Since then, Ive been hooking with wild abandon. Ive since decided to include traditional granny squares on this blanket. Thus far, Ive completed 25 squares. After some rough calculations, Ive come to the conclusion that I will need 225 squares to fit my queen sized bed. Oh boy, I really do know how to pick them.

So, if you dont hear from me for awhile, it’s because Im buried under a ton of granny squares.

20111002-215918.jpg

20111002-215932.jpg

Question: What craftiness are you working on?

One response to “Only 200 To Go

  1. Oh yes. The addic..I mean joy of granny squares. 😀 I learned as a child too, and my mother also taught me the basic knit stitch but I never got to purl. Heck I couldn’t even bind off! Fast foward to 7 years ago and I never looked back. I still crochet and a few years ago I fell head-long into a granny square obsession to beat them all. And nope, I haven’t joined them yet. Too cheap to buy all the yarn I’ll need.

    Good luck on the 200~!

Leave a Reply

