Never Under Estimate

The deliciousness of peanut butter!

I’ve never been a huge fan of peanut butter! I know, sue me! I guess we can chalk that up to the numerous pb&j sandwiches I had to consume as a wee girl. As an adult I found no reason to even have peanut butter in my pantry, except for the time when I was pregnant and I consumed copious amounts of fried pb&j sandwiches, sometimes with banana, sometimes without.

As a mother now, I do tend to keep peanut butter in my pantry. Not because, I love it, but because sometimes you need to have something fast for the kiddos. I also keep almond butter, my absolute favorite, and sometimes cashew butter, and new to me sunflower seed butter. I’ve also gravitated away from the standard grape jelly. Instead I prefer apple butter, apricot and strawberry jams. Yummy! Its all about options for me, and exposing my children to the different tastes of the world.

However, sometimes a recipe, just requires basic ingredients. Simplistic, not too complex. The idea is to let the flavors meld together to create the complex, yet oh so simple notes. I present to you a smoothie that is sure to make your taste buds do a happy dance! Im talking party in your mouth. This is very kid friendly.

Choco Pumpkin Peanut Smoothie (serves 4)
2 cups of milk (I used chocolate almond milk)
2 scoops of protein powder (optional – I used Designer Way chocolate caramel peanut)
1/4 cup of pumpkin
1 banana
2 handfuls of baby spinach
1T of peanut butter
Sprinkle of cinnamon and cocoa powder
Ice, ice, ice

Add everything except ice to blender, and blend to combined and smooth.

Pulse ice, adding more as needed until desired thickness is achieved.

Serve as breakfast with pumpkin pancakes (recipe coming soon), or as a snack, pre/post workout smoothie. Serve whenever you like, but do serve! You wont be disappointed.

20110905-092811.jpg

Enjoy!

Something to think about:
What are some basic ingredients you use, that simply just works?

Leave a Reply

